Oct 29, 2010 - Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame Announces Inductees for 2010


The Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame Announces Inductees for 2010

TULSAThe Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame will honor Oklahoma jazz legends Sam Rivers, Terry Woodson, Lalo Schifrin and Dr. Lowell Lehman at the Jazz Hall’s 2010 Induction Gala.




Rivers is an El Reno native and saxophonist, band leader and composer. Woodson, a Tulsa native, is the long-time musical director of the Sinatra Orchestra. Schifrin will receive the Jay McCann Lifetime Achievement Award for his six-decade career across musical genres, and in film and television.




The Induction Gala will be on Oklahoma Statehood Day, Nov. 16, in the Great Performance Hall of the Jazz Depot, 111 E. 1st St. in Tulsa, on the upper level. The black-tie fundraiser will start with a reception at 6 p.m., with dinner at 7 and the induction ceremony and entertainment at 8. Tickets are available for purchase at $100. The public is invited to attend.




The Gala’s Honorary Chair, Gov. Brad Henry, and Co-chairs, First Lady of Tulsa Victoria Bartlett and Oklahoma State Sen. Judy Eason McIntyre, are continuing the Jazz Hall’s tradition of honoring the legendary musicians and educators whose dedication and outstanding contributions to jazz, America’s classical music, inspire us all. 




Henry noted the contributions of the Jazz Hall and of jazz to Oklahoma’s heritage.




“Oklahoma has a rich cultural history and has produced a number of talented musical artists over the years. The Jazz Hall of Fame has helped nurture and celebrate that talent, and it is a great asset to the state of Oklahoma,” he said.




“The Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame’s work with children and dedication to promoting music education happens because of educators like Dr. Lehman,” Victoria Bartlett said.  “It is an honor to celebrate the incredible efforts of Oklahoma's best music educators with the Zelia Breaux Distinguished Educator Award.”  Dr. Lehman will be the first recipient of the Zelia Breaux Award.




“Jazz and Oklahoma influenced each other,” Eason McIntyre said. “Our state has seen and produced some of the biggest names jazz has known, musicians who have influenced generations of Americans. This year’s honorees continue that proud tradition.”






-- more --








Jay McShann Lifetime Achievement Award: Lalo Schifrin


Living Legend Award:  Sam Rivers


Jazz & Blues Inductee: Joe Lee Wilson


Jazz Inductee: Artt Frank


Jazz Inductee: Terry Woodson


Gospel Inductee: Wallis Willis


Spirit of Community Excellence Award: Dr. Stephen and Mrs. Ellen Adelson


Zelia Breaux Distinguished Jazz Educator Award: Dr. Lowell Lehman


Legacy Tribute Award: Brenda Johnson








Lalo Schifrin will be receiving this year’s Jay McShann Lifetime Achievement Award.  Schifrin has distinguished himself in classical, Latin, television, film and jazz music for almost 60 years. From bop to third stream jazz, this Buenos Aires native has collaborated with Dizzy Gillespie, Jimmy Smith, Xavier Cugat and other jazz greats. He is best known for his film and television musical scores, such as the “Mission: Impossible” theme. He has received four Grammy Awards and six Oscar nominations.




The Jazz Hall of Fame honors El Reno native Sam Rivers for his leading role in the avant-garde and loft jazz movements of the 1960’s and ‘70’s with the Living Legend Award. Rivers is a composer of jazz standards such as “Beatrice,” as well as a flute and saxophone master and leader of his own innovative big band.




Bristow native Joe Lee Wilson is being recognized for his unique vocal style that combines traditional blues and jazz balladry with free Betty Carter-like solo flights. He is considered the voice of loft jazz.




In addition to being a well-respected bebop drummer for 60 years, Artt Frank has been a leader in preserving the legacy of Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame Inductee Chet Baker through the Chet Baker Foundation ( The Foundation is an active partner with the Jazz Hall. 




Baker described Frank’s gift with drums.




“Artt Frank is my all-time favorite drummer,” the celebrated jazz trumpeter and singer said. “He always seems to know where I’m going.”




Actress Sharon Stone, a major fan and collaborator of Frank’s, described him best. “Artt Frank is one of the most consistently decent and creative people I have ever met. He is legendary in his


humanity. It is thrilling that he is being inducted in the Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame, and my family and I are simply over the moon that this is happening for him.”  




Tulsa native Terry Woodson has spent nearly half a century with the Sinatra Orchestra as a musician, conductor, musical director and keeper of the great arrangements made famous by Frank Sinatra Sr. and Frank Sinatra Jr.




Dr. Stephen and Ellen Adelson will be honored with the Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame’s Spirit of Community Excellence Award. The Adelsons continue to enhance the quality of life in Oklahoma through their generous spirit and dedication to the good of the community.




Wallis Willis is this year’s Gospel Inductee. Wallis was a Choctaw Freedman who wrote many of the most celebrated spirituals such as “Swing Low, Sweet Chariot,” “Roll, Jordan, Roll,” and


“Steal Away to Jesus” in mid-19th century Oklahoma. Willis’ music formed the basis of the Fisk Jubilee Singers repertoire and is a major building block of American music.




Dr. Lowell Lehman of Tulsa is the first recipient of The Zelia Breaux Distinguished Jazz Educator Award, which recognizes his decades of service as a teacher at Northeastern State University, founder of the first jazz higher education program in Oklahoma, founder of the Green Country Jazz Festival and original member of the Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame board.




The Jazz Hall’s Living Legacy Tribute Award is presented to a rising Oklahoma jazz performer each year. This year’s winner, Brenda Johnson, shows great promise as a vocalist and leader of the Jazz Rhapsody Trio and has been a favorite of Jazz Hall audiences.




For information regarding purchasing tickets, visit or contact Bettie Downing at Jazz Hall at (918) 281-8609. Patron level table sponsorships are available for $2,500.




 About the Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame


The Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame is a 501(c)(3), nonprofit cultural and educational organization established by the Oklahoma Legislature in 1988. It exists to provide a system in and for the state of Oklahoma to preserve, promote and illuminate the true art forms of jazz, blues and gospel music, and to identify, document and honor the artists who have made a significant contribution locally, regionally, nationally and internationally to its development.




The Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame promotes learning, training, classes, performances and cultural events for disadvantaged youth of all races, creeds, religions and ethnicities and provides scholarships to graduating students. The Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame celebrates jazz, America’s classical music.